ACTION ALERT: Monument Protection Bills Get Committee Hearings

ACTION ALERT: Monument Protection Bills Get Committee Hearings

Two bills that would protect Texas historical monuments have been scheduled for committee hearings. Here’s what you can do to help.

House Bill 583 by State Representative James White and the Senate companion, Senate Bill 1663 by Senator Brandon Creighton have been scheduled for committee hearings next week. HB583 will be heard in the House Committee on Culture, Recreation and Tourism on April 9th at 2pm. SB1663 has been scheduled for a hearing in the Senate Committee on Natural Resources & Economic Development on April 11th at 9am.

Both of these bills extend blanket protection for historical monuments and markers throughout Texas and place any attempts to remove them to a vote of the people. Passage of these bills is critical to the protection and preservation of Texas culture.

We encourage all TNM supporters to attend one or both hearings to register their support of these critical pieces of legislation or contact the committee members and sound off on your support. If you plan to attend the hearing, please contact Suzi Dantzler, the TNM’s Legislative Director, as she will be handling on-site coordination for our efforts. You can email her at or call her at (361) 302-1836.

If you cannot attend, then let your voice be heard by calling the committee members below and let them know you expect their support.

Texas House Committee on Culture Recreation & Tourism

Ask them to vote FOR Representative James White’s HB583, the Monument Protection Bill, and Representative Kyle Biedermann’s HB1836, the Alamo Cenotaph Bill.

Chair: Rep. John Cyrier – (512) 463-0682
Vice Chair: Rep. Armando Martinez – (512) 463-0530
Rep. John H. Bucy III – (512) 463-0696
Rep. Barbara Gervin-Hawkins – (512) 463-0708
Rep. Justin Holland – (512) 463-0484
Rep. Jarvis D. Johnson – (512) 463-0554
Rep. Kyle J. Kacal – (512) 463-0412
Rep. Geanie W. Morrison – (512) 463-0456
Rep. Steve Toth – (512) 463-0797

Texas Senate Committee on Natural Resources & Economic Development

Ask them to vote FOR Senator Brandon Creighton’s SB1663, the Monument Protection Bill.

Chair: Sen. Brian Birdwell – (512) 463-0122
Vice Chair: Sen. Judith Zaffirini – (512) 463-0121
Sen. Pat Fallon – (512) 463-0130
Sen. Peter P. Flores – (512) 463-0119
Sen. Kelly Hancock – (512) 463-0109
Sen. Juan Hinojosa – (512) 463-0120
Sen. Bryan Hughes – (512) 463-0101
Sen. Borris L. Miles –
(512) 463-0113
Sen. Angela Paxton – (512) 463-0108
Sen. Beverly Powell – (512) 463-0110
Sen. José R. Rodríguez – (512) 463-0129

Share this article:

Legislator Info

Join 425,486 Texans who have registered their support for the TNM.

Please login to post a comment

Become A Member

Join the TNM today and join the fight for Texas independence.